Change is Scary…but Worth It!

Last minute changes are usually scary. All of a sudden you have to remember new choreography for your show in 2 hours, or the parents you were going to babysit for want you there early so you have to hope to be able to rearrange your schedule for the afternoon. Those things can really suck, but when everything works out you can look back and be much happier with how things went.

Last minute life changes though? Those you can’t be 100% sure when you’ll be able to look back and see whether or not it was for the better or the worse. It’s scary. It’s unsettling. It is a totally unknown territory that you weren’t expecting to explore for 6 months…or a year…but you’re really just hoping that in the end it will work out for your benefit and you’ll be happy, because ultimately that’s all that matters: One’s happiness.

And that’s what I am striving for: Finding my happiness in this crazy roller coaster of a life. I am leaving a lot behind to go live on my own in Duluth and just dance opposed to my previous plan to go to school at the U of Iowa. I am leaving the stability of a school schedule, the closeness of everyone in a dorm, and the boy that I was really starting to fall for. I am leaving a meal plan, the knowledge of the budget and so much more. But hopefully I am gaining even more than I am leaving behind. I move into my one bedroom apartment on Monday and to say that I am scared out of my mind would be an understatement. The last time I wrote was 2 weeks before I was going to move South into a college dorm room with a roommate, now here I am 4 weeks later having completely changed my plans of action for this year, getting ready to head North to live on my own in a new city where I know literally 2 people. I hope it’s for the better, but I know for SURE that in 5 years I can’t look back and think to myself: “What if I would have made the decision to go chase my dreams?” Wish me luck!!

Leave a Reply

