Giving Back

I feel as though I tend to be consumed in the receiving around Christmastime year after year even when I know that that is not what the holidays are about. I really don’t mean to, but I catch myself thinking about the gifts underneath the tree while we are sitting around the table or before I fall asleep. I know better than that and I really want to change my mindset this year. Instead of focusing on receiving I really want to focus on the act of giving.

There are so many people in my life who have helped me get to where I am today and continue to help me grow and learn day by day. I know this and this year I really want to acknowledge this. I want to thank the people who have been there for me and who have brought smiles to my face through the hard times. Even if it is as simple as a colored picture of a ballerina and a candy cane for the students in my ballet classes I want them to know that they are special to me. I want people to truly see that I care and I love them. I don’t expect anything in return aside from a hug because I know that the smiles on people’s faces instantly fill me with joy. There are tons of people that I want to thank for touching my life and hopefully I will get to everyone throughout my lifetime…but this year I will really try and focus on returning their love in kind and thoughtful gestures :)

One thought on “Giving Back

Leave a Reply

