Little Victories

Are things going as planned in my life? I so wish that I could say yes, I AM truly enjoying how I am spending day after day, I AM waking up each day excited about the plans and possibilities, but instead I know deep down that I am not and things aren’t necessarily fantastic. I know that I am beyond stressed about what the future holds. I know that things aren’t running smoothly with the person who I used to hold ultimate trust in. I know that I feel like a waste of time and space. I know that my eating habits have been thrown away. I know that dance is proving its daily struggles. I know that my work isn’t being appreciated as I wish it were. I know that things aren’t going how I want them to. But ultimately it is my perspective which affects my reaction to these events. Last night I had the thought: “Take time each day to appreciate the little victories.” and you know what? That is so true! I can celebrate the fact that I went to my first pointe class tonight since December and am actually feeling alright, instead of focusing on how far I need to go to get back to where I was before in terms of strength and ability. I can appreciate the fact that I do have friends who support me even when one friendship is on edge. I can celebrate the fact that I am enjoying the food I eat instead of focusing on the amount of weight I have gained. I can appreciate the amount of time I have to myself instead of worrying about possibly wasting this year at home as opposed to being at college. Each day comes with small victories and these can lead you to feeling a whole lot better about your day instead of focusing on everything that wasn’t right. I enjoyed my parents laughter today. I enjoyed my neighbors making me smile amongst their tantrums. I am currently enjoying my nice warm bed as I sit here writing this after finishing watching my first ever episode of “Grey’s Anatomy.” The little things in life can always bring a smile to your face as long as you allow them to :)

Leave a Reply

