Unexpected Listeners

Do you ever have those nights where you just shut down? You feel distant from the people around you and are confused by your own thoughts. Your brain starts to take over your body and sends you into a dark and scary place. You have no idea what overtook you but you are scared of where it will release you “back” into the world.

Sometimes in these situations you just need a small escape. You may need someone there to help you through it or another distraction to ease your mind. I have come to find that in these situations the people who truly care and want to listen and help you are not usually the people you would have thought of a few months ago. For example a few nights ago I was at my friends house for a while. She is the friend that I confide things to, so frequently we end up just talking for a while when we are together. The other night though I ended up talking with her mom as well. She is a wonderful listener and I feel as though I can open up to her more than my own mom because she doesn’t seem to judge me in any way, shape, or form. I have talked with her about life a few times over the past few months and to think that I did not even know who she was a year ago. Another individual who I have been feeling thoughtfulness from her to me is someone who I just met at the end of June and is actually my assistant manager. She cares. She listens. She loves. Simple as that. I had a mental breakdown last night and she was the one who was able to calm me down.

It amazes me sometimes to reflect back on my life and think about the various people who have come and gone in and out of my life who I have confided in. There are only a select few. Most them seem to leave after a given amount of time and do not seem to care anymore. These 2 individuals though I do not sense will ever not be concerned or caring towards me. I love them in a different way than I love my friends or my family. They hold a special place in my heart and someday I will truly have to find a way to share this with them <3

One thought on “Unexpected Listeners

  1. Pingback: “Just get a grip, sort it out girl”. | Clumsy Little Heart

Leave a Reply

