“Scars have the strange power to remind us that our past is real.”
― Cormac McCarthy

“We must see all scars as beauty. Okay? This will be our secret. Because take it from me, a scar does not form on the dying. A scar means, I survived.”

It amazes me what little things and what life changing events can cause scars on our body. In my opinion a scar is a reminder of how far you have come. The scar is a mark of a journey, a new adventure, or an obstacle you have overcome. Each time you see each individual mark you can remember where you were and what you were doing when you obtained it and now you can take the time to realize how you have changed since then and are stronger in some way.

I have a scar on my left knee from falling down while playing outside with my cousin on a summer day in Wisconsin. This was the beginning of my journey through the diagnosis of epilepsy. Following my fall and trying to clean it up I passed out and had my very first seizure. For 4 years my life was led a little differently, trying to avoid getting over heated which had led to my other 2 seizures. Now I see that scar, know where I was in life back then, and can see now that I have ‘overcome’ epilepsy. I am now 6 years seizure free!

I have a scar right below my nose from getting a mole removed in 1st grade. Each time my eyes fall across this scar I am taken back to the days where I would wear my Barbie band-aids to school and feel like the coolest person ever :)

I have scars covering my feet from the rougher days of dancing. I have blistered and scraped up my feet and legs so badly some days, but those are the best days because it shows how hard I truly was working throughout class. This reminds me to persevere through every hard class and remember that I have made it through tough days and I can keep on pushing!

I have numerous scars which I am not entirely sure where they have come from. I also have scars which aren’t visible on the outside. I have been hurt emotionally in the past which have left me feeling broken and lost. But now I can learn from the mistakes made and create a better and stronger future for me ahead.

Never in a million years would I have thought that the day would come where I would have purposefully made marks on my wrist. These four simple lines are a daily reminder of everything that I have had to deal with. Everything that I don’t think anyone knows fully or could really totally understand the how’s and the why’s of. I know that I have become such a stronger individual since the nights that these marks were made. I have grown so much the past few months and I know that I should be proud of myself for that. These marks will never go away, but truthfully I don’t ever want them to. I need that simple reminder. I need them there to keep me going day in and day out.

Leave a Reply

