Living That ‘Working Girl’ Life

“The best way to not feel hopeless is to get up and do something. Don’t wait for good things to happen to you. If you go out and make some good things happen, you will fill the world with hope, you will fill yourself with hope.”

My “going out and making things happen” in this world is through beginning work. I have never had a steady job until this summer. I now basically have 3. I work at Dairy Queen. I nanny. I teach dance classes. It is crazy how each individual job has such a differing schedule from the next that I am keeping busy to say the least. I absolutely LOVE working at DQ. I never thought I would. I definitely never thought I would fit in with the group of people who I work with, but I have overcome my shy barrier and am really starting to connect with some of my coworkers. I am the newest on the job (up until tomorrow that is!) but have already been working for about a month. The assistant manager last night told me that I have surpassed some of the employees who have been working there for multiple seasons. That was such a great compliment to hear! I have been told multiple times how people are proud of how quickly I can pick things up and how I am good with customers and making things to their desires. The people I interact with are fun and make the time go by quickly be cracking jokes and just making me smile. I am so happy that I found this job and I have found a group of people who I connect with again. There are a lot of people who are like mini mentors to me. They have figured out how to boost my self esteem even just a little bit, but enough for me to feel happy and proud for having a job there. I may be one of the shyest ones there but I still have connected with some of them a lot. I love the way they make me happy even when I do enter the day dreading to go to work. The shifts may be long, but I am getting hours, getting money and thoroughly enjoying my time spent with these people :) The moments when I leave work after having a splendid time are when I am the happiest. I forget about the dance instructor who is really really upset with me, I forget about how my parents are frowning down upon some of my decisions recently, I forget about the friends who have practically left my life. I just “bathe” in the glory of feeling great for once. I love it!

 

Leave a Reply

